District Awards

Journey to Excellence

Get on board...Scouting is a journey and the route is to Excellence! Every unit has the opportunity to strut their stuff by completing the requirements for the new Journey to Excellence program that has replaced the Quality Unit and Centennial Quality Unit awards. There are three levels that your unit should strive for: Gold, Silver and Bronze.

“Scouting’s Journey to Excellence” is the BSA’s new council performance recognition program designed to encourage and reward success and measure the performance of our units (Packs, Troops, Crews and Teams), districts, and councils. It is replacing the Centennial Quality Awards Program as a means of encouraging excellence in providing a quality program at all levels of the BSA.

Each focuses on items that your unit can achieve such as 100% trained leaders, summer time activities and camps for Cub Scouts, high adventure for Boy Scouts, and community service for all. Don't get left behind! Start now on this fabulous Journey to Excellence in Scouting! Read more  

Info, Forms and more at: http://www.scouting.org/jamboree/sitecore/content/home/commissioners/journey.aspx

Many Individual Scout, Leader and Unit Awards - information & links can be found at:


Annual District Awards

Golden Quill Award
The District Golden Quill Award is a District award presented by Units for Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the Unit level.   A Scouter must have rendered noteworthy service to youth in Scouting, outside Scouting, or both which consisted of a single plan or decisions that contributed vitally to the lives of the Unit. The award is made available annually on the basis of 1 for each Unit.


Click here to see current and previous year award recipients. 

District Award of Merit
The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils.  The award is available to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level.  The award is made available annually on the basis of 1 for each 25 traditional units.

2012 District Award of Merit Recipents
Troop 419  Mark Grams
Troop 419  Ken Kucera



Click here to see the profiles of the current and previous year award recipients. 


Council Silver Beaver Award
The Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America.  Recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.  The Silver Beaver is an award given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service.

Click here to see previous year award recipients.